image: header
image: gownflare

Friday, May 29, 2009

Amish Love & Author Cindy Woodsmall on ABC's Nightline!

A good friend of mine and "adopted sister" has recently appeared on ABC's Nightline in a fantastic interview. I'm thrilled beyond words to see Cindy's success with her novels and am happy to share more about them here.


What's all the hubbub about Amish fiction? Major media outlets like Time and ABC Nightline are covering it, and authors like Cindy Woodsmall are making the New York Times bestseller list regularly. What makes these books so interesting?

Check out the recent ABC Nightline piece here about Cindy and her titles: When the Heart Cries, When the Morning Comes, and When the Soul Mends. It's an intriguing look at Amish culture and the time Cindy has spent with Amish friends.

And don't forget that Cindy's new book The Hope of Refuge hits store shelves August 11, and is available for preorder now.

Here's a blurb about it:

Raised in foster care and now the widowed mother of a little girl, Cara Moore struggles against poverty, fear, and a relentless stalker. When a trail of memories leads Cara and Lori out of New York City toward an Amish community, she follows every lead, eager for answers and a fresh start. She discovers that long-held secrets about her family history ripple beneath the surface of Dry Lake, Pennsylvania, and it’s no place for an outsider. But one Amish man, Ephraim Mast, dares to fulfill the command he believes that he received from God–"Be me to her"– despite how it threatens his way of life.

Completely opposite of the hard, untrusting Cara, Ephraim's sister Deborah also finds her dreams crumbling when the man she has pledged to build a life with begins withdrawing from Deborah and his community, including his mother, Ada Stoltzfus. Can the run-down house that Ada envisions transforming unite them toward a common purpose–or push Mahlon away forever? While Ephraim is trying to do what he believes is right, will he be shunned and lose everything–including the guarded single mother who simply longs for a better life?

Buy it today!

And don't forget to check out Cindy's New York Times best-selling novels from her first series, Sisters of the Quilt. The titles can be found above.

If you've read any of the first 3 books, please share your thoughts by leaving a comment. I'll be doing a drawing for a free book (title to be named later) from the comments left.


Emma said...

Cindy Woodsmall books series called Sisters of the Quilt are all wonderful books.I am looking forward to when the book called The Hope of Refuge
(The first book in the Ada's House series)August 2009
( is in the store.And also when the book called Sound of Sleigh Bells is in the store oct.(2009). Have a good weekend.

luv2read said...

I loved all 3 of her books. They were the only amish books that kept me captivated all the way through. Can't wait to read her next book. spowell01(at)

Anonymous said...

I've shared my Cindy Woodsmall books with many friends and they are a huge it. We are all waiting for her new releases!

I have her three current releases, so you don't need to enter me for the contest.

Martha A. said...

I read her first three books, and this one is interesting sounding. They are actually some of the first amish fiction that I really enjoyed and wanted to read....that is actually a big compliment in a round about way as I grew up around Amish and Mennonites and attended their schools, churches etc. and felt she got their essence without coming across condemning of the their lifestyle, yet pointing out the flaws.

Anonymous said...

They're great! But fairly different from the "normal" Amish books.

Carolynn said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Carolynn said...

I haven't read any of these books, but I would love to! Thanks so much for the chance to win!